2021 Sociology Awards Ceremony

Award Recipients

Graduating with Honors:

Tajauna Carter

Allie Dick

Gabrielle Harden

Outstanding Junior:

Wade Williams

George S. Rent Sociology Fellowship:

Kristen Petrizzo

Dr. Margaret A. Zahn Sociology and Criminal Justice Scholarship:

Michelle Bolick

Michael A. Pearson Scholarship:

Paul Scholes

Chloe Nicola

Socoiology Graduate Research Award:

Gabrielle Reichard

Alpha Kappa Delta Induction Ceremony


2020-2021 AKD Inductees:

Michelle Bolick  

Celia Brown

A’Jaya Cureton 

Imani Dunnom-Marant

Carson Ellis  

Abigail Farr

Laura Gilley Sweeney

Taylor Grossman  

Emma Haynes  

Kaide Haywood

Krystal Hines

Alyssa Jones

Evan Koross

Welinda McConnell  

Charles McLendon  

Heath Newton

Arianna Pexos  

Juanita Plymouth  

Josiane Rasbury  

Ravi Seepersad  

Miana Ueno

Yoslin Vegas

Jessica Warner

Andrew Waters


Allie Dick (president)

Tamia McCall (vice-president)

Miah Hunter (secretary)

Message from AKD faculty adviser, Dr. Victoria Rankin:

For each of you, this academic year’s initiates, the Sociology Faculty of UNC Charlotte joins me in congratulating you as new members of Alpha Kappa Delta, the International Honor Society in Sociology.

 We recognize and celebrate the accomplishments that have made you eligible for membership:

    An overall GPA of 3.3.

    A 3.0 GPA in sociology, with at least 12 hours of sociology coursework, or 4 classes.

We also want to recognize Allie Dick (president), Tamia McCall (vice-president), and Miah Hunter (secretary) for their outstanding club leadership during this academic year. Despite the challenges, the club officers provided engaging and informative meetings to the members of both Alpha Kappa Delta and the Student Association of Sociology.

On behalf of the faculty and membership of Alpha Kappa Delta, we congratulate each of you on your accomplishments and welcome you to the Society!


Congratulations everyone! Thank you all so much for your hard work and dedication!